Mid-Ohio Valley Board of Health Special Meeting June 15, 2017 211 6th Street Parkersburg, WV 26101

Call to Order:

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and the meeting was called to order at 12:01 p.m. by Stephen Worden, Chairperson. Cristy Riggs took Roll Call and a quorum was present.

Members Present:

Donna Steigleder, Calhoun County via Phone Conference Scottie Westfall, Calhoun County
Joyce Faller, Pleasants County
Eleanor Little, Pleasants County
Pamela Ward, Ritchie County
Steven Worden, Ritchie County
Candace Westfall, Roane County via Phone Conference
Beth Bumgarner, Wirt County
Pat Fulmer, Wirt County
Blair Couch, Wood County
Charles Casto, City of Parkersburg

Members Absent:

David McClure, Wood County Joseph Martin, City of Parkersburg

Staff:

Eric Walker, Executive Director Finance Director
Cristy Riggs, Administrative Secretary
Lynne Peters, Personnel Manager
Tonia Lang, Clinical Director
Deb Dennis, WIC Director
Nicole Gaines, WIC Supervisor
Debra Hungate, Finance Supervisor
Jamie Jacobsen, Tobacco Coordinator
Tami Davis, OA III
Linda Smithson, Sanitarian
Joe Faller, Sanitarian
Janette Robinson, OA II
Krista Westfall, OA II
Kyla Kyer, Nurse III
Allison Cox, LPN

Michelle Atkinson, OA II Sherry Ellem, HHR Associate Kristine Green, OA III Della Lyons, IT Coordinator Laura Petty, Volunteer Barbara Holt, Population Health Director via Phone Conference Renee Swisher, Clinical Secretary via Phone Conference Jennifer Mullen, Nurse III via Phone Conference Connie Weiss, Receptionist via Phone Conference Heather Buchanan, Account Tech III via Phone Conference Dorinda Deem, OA II via Phone Conference Beverly Ray, OA III via Phone Conference Keith Jordan, Maintenance Supervisor via Phone Conference Brandon Franklin, Maintenance Worker via Phone Conference Jennifer Duty, Account Tech III via Phone Conference Mary Putnam, Account Tech III via Phone Conference Robin Parsons, Account Tech III via Phone Conference Victoria McGrew, Account Tech III via Phone Conference

Public Comments:

Jamie Jacobsen, MOVHD Tobacco Coordinator spoke regarding the possibility that the Tobacco Grant may be renewed for FY2018. To date no final decision from the State regarding this funding has been received. Jamie currently serves as the MOVHD Tobacco Grant Coordinator but began employment under a different program.

Barbara Holt, MOVHD Population Health Director spoke regarding the great job Jamie Jacobsen has done as the Tobacco Coordinator. Barbara spoke about adding a position that Jamie could possibly apply for if the Tobacco Grant was no longer available. This position would be for the purpose of tobacco cessation education and services could potentially be billed through the Clinical Program. Additionally, a position within the Threat Preparedness program and / or other potential grant funded programs could become available.

Approval of FY2018 Organizational Chart:

Dr. Charles Whitaker, III, Medical Director and Dr. Michael Wilson, Dental Director have been added to the MOVHD FY2018 Organizational Chart. Motion to eliminate the vacant HHR Associate position (Grant Writer) and revise FY2018 Organization Chart to reflect this change was made and seconded. (Couch/Casto). The motion was approved.

Motion to approve the FY2018 Organizational Chart reflecting no vacant HHR Associate position was made and seconded. (Couch/Casto) The motion was supported.

Discuss Tobacco Grant Coordinator Position / FY2017 - FY2018:

A motion to call for Executive Session to discuss personnel issues was made and seconded. (Couch/Faller) The motion carried. Motion for Eric Walker, Executive Director; Cristy Riggs, Administrative Secretary; and Lynne Peters, Personnel Manager to remain present for Executive Session was made and seconded. (Couch/Casto)

The public meeting went into Executive Session at 12:13 pm. No action was taken during Executive Session. The public meeting resumed at 12:29 pm.

Motion to eliminate the Tobacco Grant Coordinator Position within the Population Health Organizational Unit, if the Tobacco Grant is not approved was made and seconded. (Couch/Westfall) Pamela Ward abstained from voting on this topic. Motion passed with one board member abstaining.

Adjournment:

The meeting adjourned at 12:29 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Cristy Riggs

Stephen Worden, Board Chair