Mid-Ohio Valley Board of Health Special Meeting February 13, 2020 211 6th Street Parkersburg, WV 26101

Call to Order:

The Special Meeting was called to order at 12:30 p.m. by Stephen Worden, Chairperson via Phone Conference. Roll call was taken by Cristy Riggs and a quorum was present.

The purpose of this Special Meeting is to address questions from community members regarding medical cannabis applications before the State's submission deadline of February 18, 2020.

Members Present:

Scottie Westfall, Calhoun County Eleanor Little, Pleasants County via Phone Conference Steven Worden, Ritchie County via Phone Conference Beth Bumgarner, Wirt County Sean Smith, Wood County Eric Jiles, City of Parkersburg via Phone Conference Charles Casto, City of Parkersburg via Phone Conference

Members Absent:

Donna Steigleder, Calhoun County Joyce Faller, Pleasants County Kriss Sullivan, Ritchie County Heather Downey, Roane County Pat Fulmer, Wirt County Blair Couch, Wood County

Staff:

Dr. Charles Whitaker, III Medical Director via Phone Conference Eric Walker, Finance Director Cristy Riggs, Administrative Secretary Lynne Peters, Personnel Manager Elizabeth Green, EH Director Carrie Brainard, Public Information Officer Rebecca Eaton, Clinical Director Renee Swisher, Clinical Secretary via Phone Conference Mary Putman, Finance via Phone Conference Robin Parsons, Finance via Phone Conference Jennifer Duty, Finance via Phone Conference Lesley Sprouse, Finance via Phone Conference

Guests:

Jason Frame, State of Wv via Phone Conference Jennifer Randolph, Administrative Assistant / Roane County Commission Chris Yeager, Appalachian Cannabis Company Kevin Parrish Shelly Mize

Public Comments:

- Jennifer Randolph, Administrative Assistant for the Roane County Commission addressed the Board and requested their support of the Medical Cannabis Act in Roane County. The Roane County Commission voted at a regular session on January 24, 2020 to support implementation of the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Act, allowing the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources Bureau for Public Health to issue medical cannabis grower, processor and dispensary permits within Roane County. The Bureau of Public Health must have approval from the county commission and the county board of health before issuing permits for medical cannabis growers, processors and dispensaries to be located and operate within Roane County.
- Chris Yeager, Appalachian Cannabis Company spoke to the Board about his business purpose which is to promote a safe alternative to prescription drugs to the residents of West Virginia. Mr. Yeager plans to apply for a permit to relocate his business to a location within the MOVHD region and respectfully requested that the Board approve the Medical Cannabis Act.

WV Health Connection Grant:

Motion to approve moving forward with the WV Health Connection Grant was made and seconded. (Westfall/Smith) The motion was approved.

Medical Cannabis Act:

Discussion ensued regarding the pending Medical Cannabis Act and the responsibilities that the Health Department will be tasked with if this Act is passed by legislature. The State of West Virginia is required to obtain all health departments and county commission approval or disapproval of the location that a Medical Cannabis operation can be located before issuing a permit.

Approval of the Medical Cannabis Act must be based solely upon compliance with State law. Any other applicable laws or laws that are deemed applicable such as federal laws must not part of this decision.

Motion to allow Calhoun, Pleasants, Ritchie, Roane, Wirt and Wood Counties and their municipalities autonomy with regards to medical cannabis by approving permits for growers, processors, laboratories and dispensaries in these counties for medical cannabis per the regulations under the West Virginia Bureau for Public Health was made and seconded. (Westfall/Smith) The motion carried with 6 Yay votes and 1 Nay vote.

Adjournment:

The meeting adjourned at 1:08 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Cris

that man

Stephen Worden, Board Chair